top of page

RWB Academy Celebrates Athletes' Outstanding Achievements at Annual Awards Gala 2023

RWB Academy's Annual Awards Gala 2023, the much-anticipated event themed "A Legacy in the Making," unfolded poolside at Centre of Excellence on Saturday, showcasing a night of celebration, camaraderie, and recognition.

The gala was a tribute to the club's 2023 success, which included the remarkable accomplishments of eight national athletes and securing 2nd place at the ASATT Invitational. An array of special awards were presented to athletes in various categories, highlighting outstanding performances and contributions.

Among these accolades, Anpherne Bernard was honoured with the Most Outstanding Male Performance 2023 for his remarkable achievement in breaking a 30-year-old record at the National Open Short Course Championships. Stephan Ottley personally recognized and commended Bernard in December for breaking the 13-14 Male 200m breaststroke record in November, surpassing Ottley's longstanding achievement.

Tyla Ho A Shu was celebrated with the Most Outstanding Female Performance 2023 for her representation of the club and Trinidad and Tobago at the World Aquatics Junior Championships, where she established a New National Record in the 50m breaststroke. These outstanding achievements underscore the unwavering dedication and exceptional talent of RWB Academy's athletes.

The Award Presenters on the night included esteemed figures within the RWB Academy community, such as Head Coach Deronn Samlalsingh, Senior Coach Sharntelle McLean, Team Manager Jason Wickham, RWB Parents, Dryland Coach Donna-Marie Wickham, and Assistant Coaches Ethan Morris, Elijah La Caille, and Joshua Changar.

Mrs. Renee Carrington-Baptiste, speaking on behalf of the parents, delivered a glowing tribute to the club and its coaches, praising their unwavering dedication, mentorship, and tireless support that have contributed to the athletes' growth and accomplishments.

Toni Rae Yates, in a heartfelt and humorous address on behalf of the swimmers, expressed her gratitude to parents, coaches, team management, and her fellow swimmers for their pivotal roles in her development. The evening also witnessed the recognition of Justin Hassranah and Toni Rae Yates with Leadership Awards, followed by their appointments as the 2024 Male and Female Team Captains, respectively.

"We are immensely proud of our athletes' remarkable achievements and the dedication that has contributed to their success. The gala was a true testament to our commitment to fostering excellence and camaraderie within the RWB Academy community," said Jason Wickham, Team Manager of RWB Academy.

For more information about RWB Academy and its renowned swimming program, please contact:

Jason Wickham | Team Manager | RWB Academy

Phone: (868) 235-4RWB

Thank you for your continued support and interest in the remarkable achievements of RWB Academy's athletes.

55 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page